Friday, December 31, 2010

Help us get more babies in cloth!!! Etsy Junktique

Junktique shop on Etsy has offered to give Modified Momma Reviews One free diaper for every Six diapers we can get our viewers to purchase!!!!
We would use any diapers we have earned for our monthly giveaway to needy or cloth curious families. If you are looking for some cute cloth diapers please go check out Junktique and help us earn diapers for the needy/cloth curious. Help us get more babies in cloth !!!! When ordering just tell her Modified Momma Reviews sent you in the notes to seller field then come back here and comment!
~Nikki, MMR

Sunday, December 19, 2010

little twig

Brittany Nelson at little twig was kind enough to send me some samples of a couple of their bath products. 
What I enjoyed most about the products is that they are eco friendly. The Lavender, Lemon, & Tea Tree scented products were very pleasant and soothing. L has eczema, the Bodymilk kept her skin soft for several hours. She really enjoyed her bath time.  

How Great is This!
Each month they choose a charity that benefits the environment and children's issues. They then donate 15% of the purchases you make every Wednesday to the organization they have chosen.

If you place an order with little twig before December 25th you will get free shipping!

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

New Reviews/Giveaways coming soon!

Both Hurley and I [Nikki] have several reviews either coming up or in the works!
 Keep posted on our facebook to find out when they will be coming up!

Friday, December 10, 2010

Bunky Fluff Diapers Review/ Giveaway- Winner!

Entry #74 was Jessica Gonzalez who answered "New fan" to the first mandatory entry of: Become a fan of Bunky Fluff Diaper's Facebook page. This was triple checked by two seperate people.

Congratulations Jessica Gonzalez!!
I have emailed you, you will have 48 hours to respond.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Bunky Fluff Review and Giveaway! -CLOSED

Bunky Fluff Review and Giveaway!!

bunky fluff logo

Bunky Fluff Diapers is run by a wonderful work-at-home-mom, named Caroline. She has her own Hyena Cart store, where you can buy handmade diapers made by her. She's great about working with her customers so if you don't see exactly the type of diaper you're looking for, contact her! She makes more than just AI2 diapers and she has a bunch of really cute fabrics to work with.

As a stay-at-home-mom who had never cloth diapered, I was nervous about transitioning to cloth with my daughter, Annaliese. I bought a few types, all plain colors and they were working wonderfully. However, I get bored with plain colors easily, I like patterns and designs that are cute and different. I wanted to find a diaper that would catch my eye and remain adorable throughout diapering.

So, to start my search, I did what most other people do, talked to my friends! I got a lot of suggestions, most of them weren't terribly cute, others were much too pricey. Then I found the Bunky Fluff store on I was immediately excited about all the cute prints she had available. It was around the Halloween season and she had her store stocked with Halloween themed prints. Averaging at 19-20 dollars a diaper, I was more likely to purchase from her store. Considering most other handmade diapers I saw from other small shops and online stores averaged around 25 dollars or more.
I ended up buying my favorite print she had listed: Candy Corn Ooga. The diaper was made as a AI2, meaning All-in-two.

I received the diaper very fast, much sooner than I had expected! So Annaliese was able to wear it before and on Halloween! She even wore it under her costume!
For demonstration, I'll be using the 'Going Green' diaper from Bunky Fluff. It's my favorite Bunky Fluff diaper to use! The diaper comes complete with a 'Snake-style soaker' and extra snaps in the front to adjust size to fit your baby. [Snaps to adjust rise and waist circumference].

The soaker easily snaps into the back of the inside of the diaper with a coordinating color snap. For the 'Going Green' diaper, the snap is green. I really loved this aspect when I do diaper laundry so that when the diapers are dry you can easily match the soaker to the cover. Below are pictures showing the diaper without the soaker to show the snap in the back and another picture showing the soaker snapped in.
Speaking of diaper laundry, the diapers I have from Bunky Fluff, I have had for at least 3 months. Annaliese wears them multiple times a week since I do diaper laundry nearly every day to every other day, and they have held up wonderfully. I rinse them, then wash them with bumGenius diaper detergent then rinse again, and always hang dry. Not only do they all still look brand new, but they practically repel stains.
Another wonderful aspect of the diaper's snake style soaker is that you can adjust were you need the most absorbency. All you have to do is fold the soaker to the location of the diaper you want and it doubles the absorbency of the soaker in that spot! Here's how I fold Annaliese's:

Now with some other brands of cloth diapers I have, we have a little trouble with the fit on Annaliese. Turtle, as we call her, is a but of a chunk. Normally, diapers with snaps will either be a little but tight on her belly or too loose, depending on how the snaps come together. My husband actually doesn't like using snaps diapers usually because most of the time they don't come together symmetrically. [Weird, I know.]
Bunky Fluff's diaper's fit Annaliese perfectly! That's probably why I keep going back and buying more! In the pictures below you can see that the legs and belly area aren't being pinched and yet still have room to allow A. to move around like when she's crawling.

All in all, Bunky Fluff Diapers are, and will remain, a favorite of mine. I have yet to discover a downside to my purchases.
Here's some info from her shop:
One Size AI2 made to fit babies from 12lbs to 35lbs.
Diapers feature a 3 step snap down rise for a customized fit!

Outer layer is 100% cotton
Inner Layer is 100% Polyester Anti-Pil fleece
Hidden layer is PUL

Included is a snake style snap in soaker that consists of 4 layers of super absorbent bamboo fleece. When folded you get 8 layers of absorbency!
Diapers are entirely turned and top-stitched for babies comfort.

Caroline of Bunky Fluff Diapers has graciously offered to sponsor a giveaway after this review. She will give the winner a
It can be used in her shop, and if there is something the winner would like to request that she might not have in stock they can use the gift certificate towards customs/requests as well!
Entrants must complete the mandatory entries to be considered in this giveaway. All entrants must fill out the entry form below. The winner will be chosen via We do check the entries! Any entry that is found to be false (IE. lying in the form) will be removed. The winner will be notified via email and has 24hrs to respond to the email before another winner is chosen. This giveaway will be open until December, 9th at 9:00pm Central Time, unless otherwise stated by me [Hurley] or Nikki of MMR .

Mandatory Entries:
1. Must be a fan of Bunky Fluff Diaper's Facebook page. [worth 1 entry]
2. Must be a fan of Modified Momma Reviews Facebook page. [worth 1 entry]

Extra Entries:
1. Become a follower of Modified Momma Reviews Blog via Google Friend Connect. [worth 1 entry]
2. Add Modified Momma Reviews to your Networked blogs. [worth 1 entry]
3. Subscribe to receive updates from Modified Momma Reviews via email. [worth 1 entry]
4. Refer a friend to become a fan of Bunky Fluff Diaper's Facebook. [worth 1 entry EACH]
5. Refer a friend to become a fan of Modified Momma Reviews Facebook. [worth 1 entry EACH]
6. Make a purchase from Bunky Fluff Diapers Shop. [worth 5 entries!]

Entry Form:

Feel free to comment this post. I love reading reponses to the reviews. It's also a great way to remind yourself if you have already entered.
NOTE: You must fill out the form for entries to be counted! Comments to this post do not count as entries.

Potential Sponsors...

I have sent out a tremendous amount of emails to potential sponsors this morning. Hopefully we will hear back from some of them soon and be able to offer even more reviews and giveaways!  If you have any suggestions about who you would like to see us review please comment. We would love to hear from you!

Monday, December 6, 2010

Are you ready?!

The Bunky Fluff Diaper Review/ giveaway is written and ready to be published tomorrow! You can get a head start on extra entries before then though!

Extra Entries:
1. Become a follower of Modified Momma Reviews Blog via Google Friend Connect. [worth 1 entry]
2. Add Modified Momma Reviews to your Networked blogs. [worth 1 entry]
3. Subscribe to receive updates from Modified Momma Reviews via email. [worth 1 entry]
4. Refer a friend to become a fan of Bunky Fluff Diaper's Facebook. [worth 1 entry]
5. Refer a friend to become a fan of Modified Momma Reviews Facebook. [worth 1 entry]
6. Make a purchase from Bunky Fluff Diapers Shop. [worth 5 entries!]

If you refer a friend to become a fan of either pages listed above on Facebook, be sure they mention that you sent them. Tomorrow when the entry form is posted, copy and paste the links of the comments the friends you referred left on Bunky Fluff's Facebook or MMR's Facebook. Each friend you refer that 'Likes' and comments the pages, is worth 1 entry. So refer 5 friends, get 5 entries.

And stay tuned! The review/ giveaway will be posted at Noon Central Time tomorrow.

Sunday, December 5, 2010


Even though it is a very cold Sunday in the middle of winter, I find that weekends can still be awesome. I'm a stay at home mom so my day to day carries over into the weekends anyway. There is no 'Thank goodness its Friday, I can go home and laze' like my husband views for his schedule.
Today I have taken advantage of my husband being home to do a little work on the blog before I start posting reviews. The first review, by the way, is scheduled to be up by this Tuesday. I added a Contact form in the PR Friendly tab at the top of the page so companies, shop owners, or anyone with a product to review can get in touch with us.
I also added a new writer to the blog. Her name is Nikki and she is one of my best friends since college. She will be posting reviews of her own in the blog as well. I believe she mentioned she has fluff coming to her in mail currently and was planning on doing a review of them!
At the moment, I have about 4 reviews I am planning or are currently in the works of studying/writing. More to come soon!

Saturday, December 4, 2010


Okay, here we are on Saturday morning. I am currently waiting on email replies from companies asking permission to review their products and use their labels in the posts. I did get permission for 2 products and now I find myself just waiting for them to arrive in the mail. Snail mail truely earns it's name when delivering to Alaska!
I will post on my Facebook page when I have more news, so be sure to add that as well!
Modified Momma Reviews Facebook.

Friday, December 3, 2010


This marks the very first post in my brand new blog. I'm am excited to start reviewing products and possibly have some giveaways!!
My name is Hurley, and I am a stay at home mom living in the gorgeous city of Fairbanks, Alaska. Currently I am trying to go as green as possible to save the environment [and a little cash!]. I cloth diaper, breastfeed, and practice Attachment Parenting with my daughter, Annaliese [We call her Turtle.]. I hope to build my understanding and knowledge of all things eco-friendly.
I am product review friendly!! I promise to review any product I recieve in an honest and factual manner.
Hopefully my posts of my reviews will help other moms out there who may be going through the same journey into green-living as my family is.